My Friday Favorites 04.10.15

  Friday Favorites ginghamOn TV- This week marked the final return of Mad Men – an end of an era. We got a glimpse of a Don and Roger we used to know, reminiscent of earlier seasons, double dating with women enamored by their money and power.  Don is continuing to be reflective of his life, decisions, and relationships. Learning of the fate of Rachel Menken seemed to only be the tip of what we have in store in the final six episodes.

Mad Men _Season 7

On the Page-  The April 2015 issue of Good Housekeeping has its usually great articles on home decor and recipes, but what I love most is More Bliss. Less Stress. A to Z Happiness Boosters to Try Today.  From Appreciate, Bake, and Change Your Commute all the way to Wine, X-press Yourself, Youtube and ZZzz … twenty-six easy little tricks to energize your attitude.  This is a current issue so you can’t view it online, but here is a similar article: 8 Things You Should Do Every Single Day. 

good-hk-2015-04-april

On the Computer- Whenever I start to organize a room, an area, even just a drawer – I grab a trash bag!   Declutter First Organize Later by Simpleigh Organized includes great bullet points on how to declutter, while reminding us that it really is the first step to organization.  Only keep what makes you happy, the things you LOVE!  I love these ideas. 

bedroom-bhg2

In the Kitchen- I have been very committed to drinking only water during the day.  I put lemon my water to spruce it up a little.  I was looking for some new ways to dress up my water and found Citrus Coconut Soda.  Yes this is a soda recipe, but all these delicious fruits would also be great in just straight H2O.  And if I want a little treat, I could have the soda once in awhile!

citrus-coconut-soda_le-zoe-musings_banner

In My Parenting Toolbox- The great read in the New York Times  Our Push for “Passion.” and Why it Harms Kids is a terrific reminder to all parents to let our kids learn, explore, discover, experiment, try, succeed, fail – it’s all OK!  Don’t worry about what the admissions people at insert name of “the best school in your region” here are going to be thinking about when you decide whether or not to sign your kid up for a club, sport, or extra curricular activity.  Just ask your kid – do you want to try this?

motherlode-passion-tmagArticle

Hope this week allowed you to find some of your favorite things.  What were they? Leave me a comment and let me know.   Have a great weekend and thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “My Friday Favorites 04.10.15

  1. Maria says:

    Oh my Mad Men!!! I wish this second half of the final season had 20 episodes instead of 7. I am going to miss it. The most exciting part about it ending is that once it is over I can start all over again like it is the first time and be able to go through with no stopping or waiting until next week or next season or next year!
    Sunday nights are full of good TV right now. Besides, Mad Men, there is Secrets and Lies and Once Upon a Time. I know Game of Thrones is starting tonight, I think. I don’t watch that one but Ori does. And Veep is coming back tonight on HBO! So excited for that!
    Also, there is a new Netflix show called Bloodline, with Kyle Chandler from Friday Night Lights and it is very good!!!

Leave a comment