My Friday Favorites 03.27.15

 FF pink green brown
Tick, tock, just a few more hours until the weekend, and for me Spring Break!
Let’s jump right in and talk about all the things I am loving this week.

On TV – #DidHeCheat Shonda Rhimes has gone back to the basics with Grey’s Anatomy for the past few weeks. I know what some of you are saying – you still watch that show?  Yes I do! And if you loved it when it first started, you would like the direction it is going in now. Interesting cases about patients we care about. Lots of action in the on-call rooms (Owen and Amelia!?  Even though I am not happy that Amelia and James from Private Practice didn’t last, I am happy that Owen can finally kiss someone without hot grate steam all over him.) Hanging out in the back hallway on the gurneys talking about Izzy, George, and when Callie was straight!  When Meredith called Derrick and another woman answered her phone, she kept asking “Who is this?” And the only answer she could come up with is the same answer Addison Montgomery came up with when she met Meredith in the Season 1 finale.

meredith_greysanatomy_whoisthis?

“You must be the woman sleeping with my husband.”

greysanatomy_meetaddisonThat brings us to last night’s episode. Did he or didn’t he? I guess it doesn’t matter what we think, just what Meredith thinks. It also didn’t take Hunt long to show his short temper to Amelia (helloooo this isn’t Cristina, take it down a notch. And did anyone else forget he lives in the trailer?)  My final thought: Alex Karev is still my favorite!

On the Page –  Real Simple Magazine is celebrating 15 years.  The subscriber cover for April 2015 is a celebration of years of Real Simple. So many of these covers I remember keeping for months just because I loved the way they looked!  The single lemon on the Back to Basic Cleaning issue, The No Cost Makeover with the apple green wall, Organize Your Life with the turquoise and orange boxes, How to Save Money all Year Long with the granny smith apples  – all of these lasted on my desk for inspiration for months after they came in the mail.  I have subscribed to this magazine for many years and it is always one that I renew, without even a question.  

real-simple_15thanniversaryissue

On the Computer- This article has shown up on my Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn feeds recently.  The Costs of Parenting: Stay Home or Return to Work? A Personal and Professional Decision With Financial Implications. This is a conversation I have had with many friends lately. Is there a way to balance work and home so I am happy with what I am doing in both places?  Am I making enough money to even justify having a job outside of the home, or is my paycheck going to childcare?This article gives the hard facts (dollar signs) of what it costs to raise a child and how it will effect your paycheck.  I also love that they chose a man for the picture. Warning: Contents of the article may be slightly depressing. Click carefully. 

Costs of Parenting

In the Kitchen- I have been eating a lot of roasted butternut squash lately (I know it is a fall veggie, but I buy it organic frozen to enjoy all year.) I searched the web to find some recipes with my new favorite go-to ingredient. I found Fusilli with Mushrooms and Roasted Butternut Squash from Primavera Kitchen. Looks great doesn’t it?  Not only does it have butternut squash AND pasta (yum) but it has my other must-haves when reading a recipe -the words EASY and DELICIOUS!

Fusilli-with-mushroom-and-roasted-butter-squash_-4

On my Pinterest Boards-  I started following this board on Pinterest this week – Post-Its.  The pin I like most on this board led me to this blog Five Ways We Love to Use Post-It Notes from Eighteen25.

post-it notes from eighteen25

On My Wish List-  How great would these lime green office accessories by Poppin look on my desk? Their tagline is work happy.  I would if I had all these supplies!

lime green desk supplies by poppin

On my Twitter Feed- @theorderexpert Brighten up your office with this collection of decorative file folders!

Decorative Folders from the order expert

What are some of the things you are loving this week? Leave me a comment and let me know what made your Friday Favorites list. Thanks for reading and have a great weekend.

10 thoughts on “My Friday Favorites 03.27.15

  1. Maria says:

    My favorites this week were 2 hours of The Following on Monday, Bates Motel and Better Call Saul which I am really enjoying. The season finale of The Mindy Project-they did a very fun cliffhanger. Wednesday was sad because there was no Empire, however I got back into the Chicago PD which I haven’t seen in real time in awhile because I have been so caught up with Empire! But I want to say, my very favorite was from last Friday, the 2 hour series finale of Glee. It was a silly season but it was good that we got a chance to say goodbye and the ending was so sweet. I cried 🙂

    • Maureen says:

      I have 3 episodes of PD on my DVR to watch. The Mindy Project is on my list to Netflix watch this summer. Breaking Bad gave me anxiety and I never finished it so I didn’t even try Better Call Saul!! Can you believe I have NEVER watched Glee? It’s like why doctors don’t watch hospital shows… high schoolers, doing musical theatre!!! But I know how many people loved that show so I am glad the finale did its fans justice! And…. did you hear that OTH Hailey got a part on Shonda Rhimes new upcoming show??!!!!

  2. suzanne says:

    I am so glad that someone else still watches and loves Greys! The really cool thing is that my daughter now is hooked too. Last year when she had her concussion we began watching Greys from the beginning. It has been awesome. Last night’s episode definitely gave me a huge sigh of relief!

    • Maureen says:

      That is awesome you guys watch it together now! I actually did not watch it at the beginning – but watched the first few seasons on Netflix while I was pregnant and on maternity, then started watching live when I caught up. I am very interested in people’s responses to Derrick. The #DidHeCheat question I think is looked at very differently from people at different stages in their lives (single, in a relationship, married, have a family together.) Do you agree?

    • Maureen says:

      I love these file folders – I am going to get the chevron ones for my classroom and I know I will end up ordering some for my home office, too. Love all your tips and posts!

  3. Alicia says:

    Loving “Once Upon A Time” on ABC. The Queens of Darkness are teaming up against Snow White and the heroes of Storybrooke. I’ve been pretty addicted to that show lately…

    • Maureen says:

      I watched season 1 of Once Upon a Time faithfully! I loved it! Then I got so behind in Season 2 that I said – ok I’ll catch up in the summer. Then they made different shows – in Wonderland – and I felt really out of it. But I loved season 1!! should I just binge watch it and catch up this summer?

Leave a comment